• Home >
  • Simple Folk - Chris Ricketts &

Simple Folk - Chris Ricketts &

Excl. Tax: £2.50 Incl. Tax: £3.00
Simple Folk - Chris Ricketts & - Mark Willshire. 'A warmth & intensity.. incredibly satisfying' Acoustic Mag.
  • - A collection of sea shanties.

  • More about this Item:

    1 Briery Bush
    2 Take Me As Your Own
    3 Nobody's Fault But Mine
    4 Sally Brown
    5 Which Side Are You On?
    6 Haul Away Joe
    7 Chase The Buffalo
    8 Tilbury Town
    9 Shenandoah / One More Day
    10 Wade In The Water
    11 Drunken Maidens
    11 Digging Down
    12 Farewell Shanty
    13 Wild Goose


    "Enthusiastic young folk doing something refreshingly different with their chosen material (sea shanties, trad folk, self penned); .. Chris's impassioned bluesy singing style bringing a welcome fresh slant. Clear-sighted and with a real sense of commitment to dragging this repertoire into the modern world. This is a grower." fROOTS 2011

    .....at times I am reminded of Martin Simpson and Steve Tilston in the style of guitar delivery, which is never a bad thing........The guitar playing and vocal stylings of Chris and Mark are thoroughly enjoyable, and it’s very easy to put this CD on repeat. As an album ’Simple Folk’ showcases some promising new talent in guitar-based folk, and looks a good launching pad for these two young performers." Liz Osman (brightyoungfolk.com)

    "Chris Ricketts is the sort of artist who can hold a whole room spellbound with the sound of his voice alone. In this debut album, with collaborator and bassist Mark Willshire, he has successfully captured the energy and enthusiasm that makes going to his live shows such a joy. Despite the sparse arrangement of the songs (mostly just vocals, guitar and bass) the album has a warmth and intensity to it that is incredibly satisfying." - Kate Steaggles (Acoustic Magazine)

    “These guys are two of the most charismatic, infectious performers on the scene today – if they don’t go all the way, it’s a travesty” Phil Daniels – Folking.com

    "These songs combine the groundwork of tradition with nonconformist modernity. If there is such a genre as 'earthy acoustic pop' or 'funk-folk' these guys are the first rate exponents. If not they've just forged their own style" www.folkwords.com

    "Youth is not wasted on the young when it comes to Chris Ricketts. He has a heart the size of a concert hall, a generous spirit to match and a drive and determination that wills him to win. Which he will." John Tams

    "Finely constructed (original) songs" Steve Knightley (Show Of Hands)

    "Heartfelt, Poignant" Martyn Joseph

    Simple Folk:
    "The subtle arrangements are skillful and make for a pleasant listen." Folker.com, David Hintz
  • Item No: GM02012D
  • Model No: HOBCD1012
  • Made in: United Kingdom
  • Model Number: HOBCD1012
Brand information
Hobgoblin Records

Acoustic roots music from British artists, from Jazz to Latin to Folk and beyond

Stock levels (Click or tap a location for more details)
Click on a location for contact details and map.

Stock levels can change fast. Please contact your nearest branch to confirm availability and reserve this item before you travel.

COVID Update:

All of our UK shops are open and welcoming customers to browse and try out instruments. All of our departments are also available as for click & collect arrangements and to send out goods by courier, and our Warehouse is fully staffed and sending out goods at the usual rate.
This item is in stock in our central warehouse and can be shipped to you quickly.

Please contact us by email with any questions about this item.

Stock levels are as accurate as we can make them, but are subject to change. Errors and Omissions excepted.

We're here to help!

If you have any questions about this product or would like to speak to a member of staff, please give us a ring on +44 (0)333 800 9500 or email us post@hobgoblin.co.uk.